*To Be or Not to be Mad…*

Image

Daily Prompt: I can’t stay mad at you.

To Be or Not to Be Mad, that is the Question…? Is it right to hold grudges? Is it wrong? Maybe it depends on the circumstance and what caused you to be mad in the first place. So many people seem to always find one reason or another to be mad at someone, or indeed to stay mad for a long period of time. Some people seek revenge when they are so mad that they let their anger get the best of them. Why does the end result need to come to this?

In my experience, I can recall many times that I got mad and stayed angry for a while because I was wronged. People would betray my friendship (gossiping), backstab me (turn against me behind my back but to my face be extra nice), never follow through with what they said they would, be my friend but only on the surface (when the time came for me to need them, after the many times I was there for them, they would not be there for me like they said they would), try to steal my boyfriends (because they were jealous)…I could go on and on.

Throughout these times, I have thought out of anger that revenge would be sweet victory! I could get back at them and they would never do me wrong again! Of course that’s a natural thought for many people, I’m sure. However, no matter how mean I was to people when I was mad, I never could allow myself to physically seek out revenge. Mentally in my mind I would wish bad on them for doing me wrong, but I would not step over that fine line in the natural. Maybe it was the way I was raised or my morals. “Forgive and forget” is what most of us are taught. I was raised by a few scriptures in the Bible to: “Never let the Sun go down on your anger” (Ephesians 4:26).  In other words: Do not go to sleep while you are still angry. Resolve your issues before the next day. Or “A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control” (Proverbs 29:11). While that’s an ideal thought, I can’t say that always works with me. I am one to hold a grudge for a little while longer than a normal person. However I also have learned that negativity and feelings such as being mad, hurt, angry, resentful, etc. tend to cause toxins and poisons in our body. With that being said, I don’t believe it’s a great idea to hold a grudge. The less toxins in my body, the better!

Now I have learned to get mad, get over it quick, forgive, but never forget. If you forget then things in certain situations you were in may happen to you over and over again, but if you don’t forget, at least  you have learned from the lessons and are aware and cautious of not putting yourself in situations that might make you mad. So I have learned to overcome my anger quickly. And lastly I have learned that Karma will take care of everything for you. It is a natural law. What comes around, goes around. So it makes your load a little lighter. At least it does for me.

Signing off~Uninhibited Ladi ❤

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

What's on your mind?

